Home Business Coronavirus: Where can US tourists go? Countries blocking Americans – Business Insider

Coronavirus: Where can US tourists go? Countries blocking Americans – Business Insider

Coronavirus: Where can US tourists go? Countries blocking Americans – Business Insider

A woman wears a face mask while standing in front of the Eiffel Tower in Paris on May 24, 2020.A woman wears a face mask while standing in front of the Eiffel Tower in Paris, France, in May.

Mehdi Taamallah/NurPhoto via Getty

  • Many countries around the world have banned international visitors, but some are slowly reopening their borders as they bring their coronavirus outbreaks under control.
  • But many are excluding travelers from the US, and other countries, currently struggling with the virus.
  • The US has more coronavirus cases and deaths than anywhere in the world, and infection rates have recently reached new heights.
  • The State Department is telling Americans to avoid all international travel and to contact countries’ embassies to see what entry restrictions and requirements they have. 
  • Costa Rica opened to tourists on Saturday, but not those from the US.
  • Here are many more, though not all, of the countries that have blocked US tourists…
  • Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories

Most EU countries

A Christmas market in Prague, Czech Republic.

Rostislav Glinsky/Shutterstock

The Schengen area, a border control-free travel area that encompasses 26 European countries, blocked nonessential travel from the US to its member countries, and four other European countries decided to follow the same rules.

The bloc reopened its borders to some countries from July, but left the US out.

European diplomats said they barely considered including the US because its cases were so high.

The countries where US tourists are blocked, are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Costa Rica

Costa Rica.

©John Seaton Callahan/Getty Images/Moment RF

Costa Rica is reopening two airports on August 1, but only to tourists from the EU, the UK, and Canada.

The Bahamas

Nassau, The Bahamas.

Valéria Almeida / Flickr

The Caribbean island nation closed the borders to US visitors on July 19, but left them open for those coming from Canada, the United Kingdom, and the European Union.

It had reopened its borders three weeks earlier.

“Our current situation demands decisive action if we are to avoid being overrun and being defeated by this virus,” Prime Minister Hubert Minnis said.


The Pudong financial district in Shanghai, China.

REUTERS/Carlos Barria

China blocked the entry of travelers from almost every country in March, aiming to stop a second wave of the virus after it got its own outbreak under control.

The ban on US travelers is still in place. 


Toronto’s skyline.

Associated Press/Rebecca Blackwell

The border between the US and Canada is still closed.

New Zealand

The New Zealand landscape.


New Zealand’s border is closed to almost all travelers, including US tourists.

South Africa

Cape Town, South Africa.

HandmadePictures / Getty Images

South Africa is not letting tourists into the country, and its airspace is closed to commercial flights.


Marrakesh, Morocco.

Migel / Shutterstock.com

Morocco’s borders are closed for tourism.


Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Associated Press/Felipe Dana

Brazil has banned foreigners from entering by air, land, and sea, except in exceptional circumstances.


Medellin, Colombia.

Sinéad Baker

Colombia closed its land borders in March, blocking international flights until September. 


Panama City.

LUIS ACOSTA / Getty Images

Panama is only allowing citizens and residents to enter, and they have to quarantine for 14 days when they do. 

Commercial flights are not running.


A llama in Peru.

Tim Graham/Getty Images

Peru has blocked travelers, except its own citizens returning. International borders are closed.

Something is loading.

Something is loading.


US coronavirus

Chevron icon
It indicates an expandable section or menu, or sometimes previous / next navigation options.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here